Coronavirus Advisory

Notice For the latest information, resources, and guidance related to coronavirus (COVID-19), visit

Annual Meeting by ZOOM!

Sunday, June 28

5:00 pm - 7:00 pm

It’s finally here!! The Friends of Sherwood Island Annual meeting and the presentation on the “Life and Times of Purple Martins”. So grab a snack and a beverage, and sit back and enjoy. We hope you are looking forward to it as much as we are!

BE SURE TO RSVP to to get your ZOOM Number and Password!






JUNE 28,2020

Welcome: President – Liz-Ann Koos

Approval of Minutes of 2019 Annual Meeting – Adam Goodman

Financial report: Treasurer – Erica Caldwell

Election of 2020-2021 Board of Directors – 2020 Nominating Committee

State of the Park Report: Park Supervisor – John Guglielmoni

Nature Center 2020 Interns & Activities: Adam Goodman & Riley Baxter

Tree Committee: Erica Caldwell

CT Trails Weekend 2020: Cece Saunders

Gardening Team & Volunteering Opportunities: Michele Sorensen

TRUE FRIEND 2020 Award: Alison Rivard

Feature Presentation: “Up in the Air – The Life and Times of Purple Martins”

Miley Bull – Senior Director of Science & Conservation, Connecticut Audubon

Tina Green – Purple Martin Landlord @ Sherwood Island State Park Colony


The production of this Annual General Meeting via ZOOM and using videotaping was creatively orchestrated by

Board Member Craig Patton to whom the Friends of Sherwood Island State Park are very grateful – the restrictions

imposed by COVID-19 necessitated the virtual approach to keep everyone safe! Hopefully, future Annual General

Meetings will be held in the Nature Center (closed now due to the Pandemic).


Officers and Directors Slate

June 28, 2020 – Annual Meeting 2021


President – Liz Ann Koos

Vice President – Cece Saunders

Treasurer – Erica Caldwell

Assistant Treasurer – Michele Sorensen

Secretary – Darcy Sledge


Steve Axthelm

Luise Bianco – Corresponding Secretary

Gene Borio – Webmaster

Toni Boucher

Tom Failla

Steve Gabriel – Youth Representative

Adam Goodman – Board Liaison to Nature Center

Alex Main – Advocacy

Peter O’Gorman

Craig Patton

Chris Swan

Cathy Talmadge

Jamie Van Acker

Annual_Meeting 2020 flyer – FINAL v2